Watercolour demo – Tom Hardy

tom hardy watercolour

Last week I tried to show how exacting measurement in prep drawing for a watercolour portrait can work in your favour by giving reassurance of the drawing and confidence before applying paint.

I knew this painstaking method would be challenging and rather laborious for the group so this week I offered a shortcut alternative and took a tracing and transferred the drawing that way.

I was asked if I could paint someone everyone knew, to give added interest. I chose Tom Hardy and no-one knew him!

It’s not great to paint from someone else’s photograph for portraits but hey, it’s only an exercise.

I tried the one on the right at home to rehearse the points and to make sure I kinda knew what I was talking about when I came to do it in class.

The photo is a good example of high tonal contrast and three quarter pose.

The one on the left was the demo. These are half hour paintings, with a one inch flat brush.

~ by David Reid on May 4, 2017.

6 Responses to “Watercolour demo – Tom Hardy”

  1. They don’t know tom hardy?? Who are these people?! The one on the left is a particularly good likeness

  2. No-one knew him?!? Do they live in Outer Mongolia and don’t have a TV, or did none of them watch ‘Taboo’ – ? If I could reproduce your half hour portrait in a whole day I’d die happy; you are so talented. I live in Paignton and feel aggrieved that I can’t come to one of your live demos. X. Love the emails, though.

  3. Fabulous work of a fabulous actor. Fancy not knowing Tom hardy !!!???

Leave a Reply

 
