Station Cafe, Saltcoats

salcoats-cafe-by-the-station

A demo for New Cunninghame Art Club tonight. A painting of Cafe by the Station in Saltcoats. Painted in oils on canvas, 50cm x  50cm. A cracking victorian building right bang in the middle of town.

I started from top to bottom, quickly blocking in the sky and tentatively putting in the roof and chimneys. At this stage, I could see I was already being too cautious. I speeded up and chucked the paint on and everything seemed to liven up as I progressed. Carefully carefree.

 

~ by David Reid on February 23, 2017.

2 Responses to “Station Cafe, Saltcoats”

  1. I love this painting. Awesome subject too !

    • Thanks Victoria, I suppose it’s a bit like a chunky oil version of your delicate watercolours! Someone in the club said I forgot to put in the greyhound that walks past this building everyday 😀

Leave a Reply

 
