Book Covers

becketteinsteinheidegger

I was looking for something to read when I came across these old things.

In the 80’s I was a graphic design student before coming to the conclusion I was more suited to being a penniless artist. It’s the money I am averse to!

One of the briefs was to produce three book covers as part of a series of Fontana publications. Each one representative of a title within the science, philosophy and literature sections of the series.

Here are my efforts from back then. I am still fond of these mock ups.

Hidden under the mock ups are the real books as follows; The Outsider by Camus, The Present Age by Kierkegaard and Once Upon A Planet, an anthology in aid of Friends of the Earth.

~ by David Reid on October 25, 2016.

3 Responses to “Book Covers”

  1. Brings back memories of my time as a graphic design student in the 90s. The conclusion I came to was that I was a rubbish designer and I now wish I had studied visual/fine art. We had to do the typography by hand unless we could afford to buy sheets of Letraset. How did you do the book titles, etc?

    • I can hardly remember now ๐Ÿ˜€ I think the lettering was typed in a word processor and printed onto a clear, sticky A4 sheet to be cut and pasted. I say in the post that it was in the 80’s but thinking now it must have been at the end or even beginning of the 90’s! So, probably at same time (ish) as you. Computing was just starting to make inroads to design but yet to be seen in college much. I remember we had three pc’s to the whole design department. But, like you I was in the wrong place, always thinking of fine art/painting!

      • Ha ha sounds like a very similar experience. We got to use a computer for design in my final year, prior to that they were only for word processing. It was quite an experience ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
