From the train – coming into Irvine

form-the-train-i

Back to landscape to try and get a handle on direction. I have been gradually getting bolder, looking for the time when I think it is far enough away from straight depiction. I thought that when that time comes I could start to paint a small body of work on a particular theme from landscape. This one is closer to my vision of that.

The image is seen from a train on the end of a return journey and is just outside Irvine. On a cold crisp January afternoon.

Still a few things to sort out in this style.

Questions I might ask myself:

All wet in wet?

If not, which elements to layer?

How would I like tones to come together along the edge of the tone? Blended , adjacent?

Anyway, quite happy I can see some development.

 

 

 

 

~ by David Reid on October 8, 2016.

4 Responses to “From the train – coming into Irvine”

  1. Very nice! I like hearing about your thought process on this.

  2. Wow, that’s fabulous

Leave a Reply

 
