Waitress

The Waitress aug2016

Final version of the waitress. I gave the painting a complete overhaul to take it to this final version.

I cleaned up nearly every part of the picture. Enhancing colour, filling in gaps, adding detail here and there and refining the face to a degree where I could go no further.

The plan is to hopefully get it into the Courtyard Studios Group exhibition coming up in two weeks.

~ by David Reid on August 6, 2016.

8 Responses to “Waitress”

  1. Lovely painting, good luck!

  2. very well done indeed!

    rosajhberlandartconsultant.com

  3. Stunning painting. Stopped me in my tracks as I scrolled through the reader. Something really soulful in the way the oerson and situation was depicted.

    • Thank you Fritz. I tried to show a dreamy boredom but somehow still engaged in her duty of the waitress. I like to get that engagement with the viewer by the direct eye contact, and going by your generous comment, that worked!. Thanks again πŸ™‚

  4. Looks amazing! I think you’ll have no problem getting into that exhibit. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Isabel! I didn’t quite mean it to sound like a judged selection process; as a group we are allowed two perhaps three paintings and it’s a matter of space and my choices. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
