Variation on Irvine Harbour Scene

Irvine Harbour 2016

I started this as a demonstration exercise for the Friday group. Finished it today.

This is the second version of another smaller painting. The small one is 30x30cm and this one is 40×40. Doesn’t sound a big jump but in area it’s nearly twice the size.

I wanted to see how the brushwork would appear in an upscaled picture. I found I wanted to make the strokes much larger due to the influence of the original. It wasn’t possible though as I underestimated the size of brush I would have needed. So more strokes to say the same thing. It worked at the water foreground, but got too busy in the sky and hills on the horizon.

I think I should have started fresh and not referred to the original so much. I am moving towards more of an abstract rendition and don’t feel it is far enough away from reality here. I’ll keep on keeping on though. All good.

The original is below:-

Bogside Flats early evening

~ by David Reid on June 11, 2016.

8 Responses to “Variation on Irvine Harbour Scene”

  1. I quite like the busy hills, but not sure if the cloud should calm down or the blue of the sky above it should be lighter. The sky feels oppressive on this one, but that may be because I keep referring to the first one now. That was unhelpful wasn’t it!

    • I totally agree! It’s the sky that bothers me. Everything below the hills is calmer and I speeded up and relaxed on those parts (I worked top to bottom)I don’t mind the colour, just the fact of too many brushstrokes when it could have been smoother πŸ™‚ Thanks for the input.

  2. Beautiful rich and deep colors. I agree with two things you mentioned – going from 30×30 to 40×40 is a big step up. I am amazed how much more paint it takes, and more oomph in brush strokes. Also, I have also often started with an older painting (that I liked!) as a source and then found a lack of mojo while I worked on the “copy”, thinking I should have rather started with a clean slate. Thanks for posting!

    • Thanks for the comments. I think you are spot on with the idea of recreating a painting but it not living up to the promise in execution or enthusiasm. Not a major thing here but , yes, a niggling feeling of why bother πŸ™‚

  3. Well you may well have felt ‘why bother’, but I loved the second, more vivid version!

    • Thank you! I am careful to say it is just a niggle of a complaint and no more. It’s a valuable exercise to try these things out. I’m glad to hear you like the second one. It makes me look again πŸ™‚

  4. This is lush

Leave a Reply

 
