Brogan

Brogan portrait June 2016

A very different kind of painting from the last post. This one precedes the portrait of Margaret, below. Probably because this one took so long to paint, I had a bit of fun with Margaret’s.

This is Brogan, granddaughter of a friend. I decided to go down the path of realism to see how far I could go with it. It’s the most difficult thing. I couldn’t sustain the technique to the end and resorted to some painterliness in the clothing and background.

The wooly cardigan was the fun bit, the rest was hard work!

~ by David Reid on June 6, 2016.

15 Responses to “Brogan”

  1. Wow, that is really excellent. Impressive work.

  2. Impressive is the word. You saw how far you could take it and i think you went all the way. I can’t take my eyes off the face to comnent on the cardie!

    • Thank you. The reaction to the painting makes it worthwhile, but I’m not sure I could keep it up as an ongoing way to paint, It was a bit of a slog!! 😀

      • Yes i’d agree with you there! you could experiment with how much, how little or how placed hyper realism was needed to still made the wow impact. Obviously I’m far too lazy to try that!

  3. That’s amazing. I feel if I asked Brogan a question she would answer me.

  4. Absolutely stunning David!

  5. Very sensitive and beautifully painted portrait.

  6. Oooffff such patience! It’s a gorgeous piece

  7. Masterful. I am in awe!

Leave a Reply

 
