It ain’t over till it’s over

Margaret Strang portrait 30 may 2016

Playing a risky game going back to a painting I thought I had finished. It needed another session, though, to adjust and correct and give it a once over. You need to reach that point where you have done all you can and know that any more will not improve it.

Sometimes, of course, you can misjudge and lose the work or at least lose the freshness. Here, I think I am satisfied that the final session was worth it.

Now, if I can resist painting a little bit more on the neck, it is finished.

that neck, though….

~ by David Reid on May 23, 2016.

8 Responses to “It ain’t over till it’s over”

  1. Amazing art!!

  2. You’re brilliant. This is a fantastic portrait and I love it. I know the feeling of needing to go back over. I have ruined quite a few finished paintings that way.

  3. It’s fabulous. And it’s finished.

  4. your portrait makes me think I know her, I can really see her, very nice

Leave a Reply

 
