Watercolour portrait exercise

richard watercolour demo

In preparation of a watercolour demo for Wednesday group, I tried this one tonight. I painted this on a drawing board at quite a steep angle to allow the pools of colour to fall to the bottom edge of the applied colour. I also tried to use a lot of pigment to saturate the colour. I virtually never draw a portrait freehand. I use measuring tools and tracing for my oil portraits. Here, I relied on eye and fate.

~ by David Reid on December 15, 2015.

7 Responses to “Watercolour portrait exercise”

  1. and the result of it is wonderful!

  2. Gorgeous, so expressive

  3. Amazing results – would love to see you paint in person David. Nice work ~

Leave a Reply

 
