Carrick, still evening – fin

evening, harbour boats

Carrick painting is finished. I didn’t achieve the wet brush flourish that I had hoped for over the whole. It is working in places but perhaps too much detail in the pic confused the issue. I can do the alla prima when the original is simple but still to learn what to leave out when I have a busy reference.

I like the light in the painting, so that’s a positive.

(Just noticed how bad that wee boat on the left is!. I will redo that toot sweet.)

~ by David Reid on October 22, 2015.

2 Responses to “Carrick, still evening – fin”

  1. I think it looks perfect. A beautiful overall glow with the right amount of detail. A lovely balance to the whole thing

Leave a Reply

 
