Orange Estuary

Orange across the estuary

A follow on from the Estuary painting a couple of weeks ago. (Photograph is a bit blurry).

I will finish this tomorrow. I am trying to put on more paint to a thick, broad buttery consistency. It’s wondering where to take the detail. I am quite uncertain about this one. I would like to be bolder and scrap most of the representational areas but that will have to wait for another day. I think the concern is in that narrow strip in the middle, the horizon, the background hills and low sky. I am trying too hard to draw correctly. Anyways, my focus here is on saturated colour and, as I say, broad wet strokes of paint.

~ by David Reid on October 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
