Judy Phillips

Judy Phillips

 

This is Judy Phillips, wife of Stephen who has already been portraitised and shown seven posts ago. Their son Richard is also pictured below. I painted Richard for a demonstration in the Saturday class!

I had to be aware of the other portrait in terms of colour and composition; knowing they will be hung together. I’m still enjoying the prussian blue. It’s a current favourite.

One thing I found surprising was how dark I had to go on the left background in order for the face shadows to look right. I also had something confirmed and do so every time I start a new canvas; painting is difficult!

~ by David Reid on March 11, 2015.

2 Responses to “Judy Phillips”

  1. Beautiful work David and your client will be very pleased. I do like the velvety look of Prussian blue, her face shadows only enhance the 3-d feel of the piece.

Leave a Reply

 
