Mary

 

Mary for blog

I have nearly finished my portrait of Mary, just a final refinement of tones to the hands and it should be complete, save for a “once over” to make sure.

This one has taken me some time. There was a fair bit of toing and froing due to the nature of the commissioning process. Luckily, the client was sure of what he was asking for because any chance I could have had, I was for taking it to a more contemporary place. That will be for another time though. I have another two or three staged Mary’s all photographed and waiting for canvas.

One thing the client stipulated was that he just wanted a depiction of the girl from Galilee.

This will be heading for a church near home when it is framed in the next week or two. Fingers crossed it will go well with everyone involved.

~ by David Reid on August 20, 2014.

18 Responses to “Mary”

  1. Like an icon! I think it will look perfect in a church setting

  2. Lovely painting, great hands too, which are tricky.

  3. Beautiful, just beautiful. Nice work. Totally appreciate the innocence and what here image stands for, nicely interpreted.

  4. Divine !

  5. Wow, this is incredible. Beautiful work.

  6. Incredible work David, you’ve given a gift through your painting. There is a special emotion that flows from this gorgeous piece.

  7. This is incredibly beautiful. It does look modern, to me it is the incredible realism and expression in the face.

  8. Hi David, I just love your portrait of Mary. It has been fascinating to watch you from the very start to the finished painting. I am sure your client will be delighted. best wishes Katerina Hayden Date: Wed, 20 Aug 2014 20:14:51 +0000 To: katerinah@hotmail.co.uk

  9. Beautiful work! Could not tell, is this oil or acrylic? May I ask, what painting medium do you prefer and why? Beginner here and always interested in learning. Thanks!

    • Thank you Tom! This is an oil painting. I use turps as a thinner in the earlier stages. I stop using pure turps after the white of the canvas is gone. Then I use a mixture of 50/50 linseed oil and turps in the subsequent layers. It’s the old adage “fat over lean” – more oil in the latter stages. If I need a bold bit of paint I dont use the medium at all, just the paint. Another thing is, I paint in strokes,small to medium sized, so no large areas at any one time. This cuts down any risk of cracking due to different drying times. David

Leave a Reply

 
