Orchid

Margarets orchid

 

An orchid by Margaret from Tuesday group. How exciting is this? I love the energy in this wee single object. Painted with palette knife, no preparation. Just Margaret getting stuck in! This reminds me of Cy Twombly in a controlled state or David Hockney a little out of control.

I have asked Margaret to paint the other two orchids I have in the studio, to complete a series of three.

~ by David Reid on June 10, 2014.

9 Responses to “Orchid”

  1. Absolutely lov eit !

  2. Yep, I agree totally. Very exciting piece.

  3. Most excellent. A fabulous wee piece – perfect in every way.

  4. I like it too, for all the reasons you stated!

  5. Yes, this is very nice! I love how loose it is and the use of complimentary color. There’s a little Oriental / Asian feel to it, for me.

Leave a Reply

 
