Blue Jug II

blue jug II small

Sometimes it is a good idea to recreate a painting to discover why something works or doesn’t work. At the risk of copying the last still life too closely, I have painted the blue jug with the same flowers in a slightly different arrangement. I found that no matter how hard I tried not to use the other as a template, I referred to it time and again. This kept the colours and marks very similar.

There are rules I like to casually stick to which help me to control the painting till the end. It is perhaps a bit calculating but each style must have a semblance of order and attachment to its own guidelines, written or imagined. Think Cubism or Constructivism or any “ism” that has guiding principles to adhere to. I suppose my ism here is “commercial impressionism”  .

So my rules are ; use a palette knife, leave gaps for the ground to show through, vary colour and tone in the background on almost every stroke, leave bottom right section unfinished, try to capture the drawing with fewest possible paintmarks, stick to what is in front of you ( reproduce as accurately as possible)

One drawback of doing something twice is that the marks become less spontaneous and therefore lack a little bit of energy. I think that may have happened here. The first painting was painted in discovery mode and the second is reproduce mode. I am not sure if that can be seen or if it is familiarity.

~ by David Reid on April 13, 2014.

6 Responses to “Blue Jug II”

  1. Hi David, I am so sorry I have not been in touch but the time has just run away from me. I am missing the Saturday class but understand you need time to do other things. Thank you for offering me a place in the Friday class but I am off to Ireland soon for a few months so would not be able to attend for long. I hope your picture of Mary is working out well for you. If you don’t mind, I will contact you when I return from Ireland to see if you have any free places then and will of course keep up to date with your blog. best wishes Katerina hayden

    Date: Sun, 13 Apr 2014 14:00:07 +0000 To: katerinah@hotmail.co.uk

  2. I really like this painting David, and really enjoyed your description of how you work. Inspiring ! 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on claudiofnz.

  4. Your thoughts / guidance are both superdoop David

    Harry

Leave a Reply

 
