Portrait of Margaret

Margaret W portrait s

A portrait of Margaret. Painted in a more playful style, inspired by the colourful top Margaret is wearing. By chance we had a vase that just about matches the pattern perfectly.

This painting was attempted from a sitting, which I began a few months ago. I posted my initial results on the blog. I was never satisfied with the results and could not get to grips with taking it to a finish.  I started again and relied on the photographs I took at the time and I am much more satisfied with the end result. A real learning experience, and next time I work from sittings I am sure I will be better prepared.

~ by David Reid on December 17, 2013.

4 Responses to “Portrait of Margaret”

  1. This is fantastic. I like how the vase matches the shirt. Great job!

  2. Lovely. It has a very airy feel.

Leave a Reply

 
