Lou Reed by Fiona

Lou Reed by Fiona

I was thinking about Fiona yesterday when I heard the sad news of Lou Reed’s death.

Fiona painted this portrait of him in the wednesday evening group only two weeks ago. We had a laugh at how gnarled his face was and how tricky getting the strong and particular mouth and  jaw shape was . We weren’t to know he would pass away within days of painting it.

He was a musical hero of mine. The most honest rock guy I have ever heard. I saw the Velvet Underground play in Edinburgh for the reunion tour way back in the early 90’s. I think it will remain the best concert I ever saw.

~ by David Reid on October 28, 2013.

4 Responses to “Lou Reed by Fiona”

  1. It is a lovely painting.

  2. Lovely work

Leave a Reply

 
