Sandy – Red Chair

sandy in the studio - red chairPortrait now complete after a late shift last night. It’s never ideal to work till the small hours, but it has to go to the framers today in time for entry into North Ayrshire’s Open in 10 days time.

The handling of the paint is rougher than usual but it is indicative of where I want to go with the portrait for a while. I got a bit tighter at the bottom right hand corner and the hand itself (Sandy’s left). This was the late night painting which I rushed slightly.

Next time I will try and keep the quickness of strokes with a more fluid application. There are some dry scumble areas I would like to change a little. I am pleased with the direction I am going in. One thing I must tackle is work ethic! Still too slow.(easily distracted!)

~ by David Reid on June 27, 2013.

17 Responses to “Sandy – Red Chair”

  1. Fabulous work and really enjoyed watching the progress. Best wishes in the North Ayrshire’s Open – this is one impressive piece.

    • Thanks Mary – really appreciate the comment.

      • Well your work deserves praise. The individual in your painting is filled with character/personality – for me it’s not just the technical that are outstanding, but the fantastic relaxed-old man you so correctly gave to the viewer!

  2. You just want to hug this guy or claim him for your grandpa. What a fabulous rendition, David. Good luck in your show.

  3. I really like the rougher texture of the paint-great hands too.

  4. Always something to distract us! Lovely work

  5. This portrait is very impressive, looking at the image with bigger dimensions his eyes are just talking, like he’s sitting there right in front of you! And the expression on his face transmits a feeling as if you know him very well! Great work!

    • Thanks Mary. I have always been of the mind that you don’t need to know someone to characterise then in artworks, but maybe I am wrong. The fact that I know Sandy very well helps this one achieve a bit more than likeness, I think.

      • I absolutely agree with you David. Sorry for my bad English, I was trying to say that to the viewer of the painting it transmits the feeling as if the “viewer” knows him very well (at least this is how I personally felt looking at the portrait). That’s magic!

  6. Hurray! Sandy strikes (a pose) again!

  7. Yipes I’ve missed the North Ayrshire! Well maybe? What was that about work ethic again? All very best with this submission. You so deserve it. ‘,-)

  8. Wow, great painting. Loads of character to it. So many portraits look like they’re artificially trying too hard to replicate a photo but this has a natural relaxed look to it.

    • Thank you very much. I work from photographs, like most, but I am very aware to drop the obvious references to photography. It’s something to do with the initial sitting and trying to get a totally relaxed subject. As if they have been sitting for a length of time, without a care.

Leave a Reply

 
