Progress with portrait of Sandy

sandy in progress 001It’s the final and definitive version of Sandy. After using his image for all the demos and workshops, I now get down to the business of the large oil portrait.

I took quite a while getting the face right, the mouth in particular. It’s nearly done but needs another look later on. I don’t like moving on to other parts of the canvas until I can relax about the likeness. My aim is to quickly fill the other areas with vigorous strokes; the way I have started the jumper. I can layer up if needed, but I hope to get these bits right first time. The hands will be tighter, like the face. He is sitting by a door on the right so there is a strong light hitting the face and the hair on the right side.

~ by David Reid on May 26, 2013.

9 Responses to “Progress with portrait of Sandy”

  1. I love seeing stages of a painting 🙂

    • I agree Rosie, I am going to try and restrain my instinct to polish this to a finish. I’ll play chicken and see how much I can leave alone!

      • It’s a tough one, but I love the way the very detailed face emerges from the sketchiness of the rest. It is, after all, the way we see the world, focussing in on a small part while the rest remains unfocussed….

  2. Woooooowwwwww

  3. I think I’m developing a vicarious crush on Sandy; your portraits of him have so much charm and intelligence and character I feel as though I’ve had a visit with him every time I look here! Wish I could take lessons from you. Sigh. In another life maybe there’ll be time and resources for it! 🙂 Cheers.

    • Ha ha.. Sandy will love that! I am glad to have caught his undoubted charm and character but intelligence? I must be working miracles there! (only joking Sandy ;)) Thanks for the lovely thoughts, Kathryn.

  4. You sure have got the likeness

Leave a Reply

 
