When is a drawing finished?

Emma Charcoal

Here is the completed drawing of Emma showing full composition.Although this shows what I intended, (I set out to explore the scale and the balance of elements full size), I also wanted a finished drawing I could maybe frame up. Now, though, I have the feeling I have overworked it. I prefer the incomplete state in the last post. There is an energy in the gaps and in the tailing off of the crosshatching that dissipates when the picture is complete and the viewer no longer has to work to complete the image in his own mind. Oh well, you can’t go backwards, so it’s onwards to the oil painting.

~ by David Reid on March 17, 2013.

7 Responses to “When is a drawing finished?”

  1. Reblogged this on debrabouie1345 and commented:
    This Is So Cute I Love It

  2. Oh, I know what you mean. I have a banner in my studio that reads “Multi media saves”. It’s a note to self, that when I recognize that I’ve overworked something and if it’s worth saving, maybe I can throw something else at it to make it work. Nothing to lose. I’ve taken out bits with a drippy white wash of acrylic strategically placed, so the addition appears like it was the plan all along. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Your drawing is charming nevertheless.

  3. I agree with your comments David, but it’s still a remarkable piece.

  4. Ahhh, the eternal question! I always like to see what others do in response to it myself. Have to admit that the digital age has either been a boon or a bane, depending on the day, because I find it’s fun to digitally rework stuff that turned out poorly in my on-paper attempts and see if I can rescue it after all somehow. The downside is that, like all other fun tools, the digital ones get a little addictive and I can be sucked into the vortex of fiddling until all hours on pieces that would be better left alone for more important work! Oh, well, it’s all practice. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
