Girl in red tunic

image

David, from the thursday group, paints a girl in red. His naive style and eye transforms a sweet photo portrait into a gauguinesque warrior.
The primaries shout colour, aggressively, at the viewer. She wears the tunic,  or rather the tunic hangs from the disinterested frame of the yellow skinned skinny figure.

~ by David Reid on October 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “Girl in red tunic”

  1. I agree. The colors vibrate and jump! I also enjoy all of the echoing verticals in this painting.

  2. I don’t know how to evaluate a painting technically David but I welcome the diversity. The more diverse your posts the more my own view has to widen.
    For me, the colours, taken with the style and the girls detachment, which I would have missed -incidentally – without your blog, seem to shock and charm at once.
    Will try to get a wee first look at Gauguin before Monday.

Leave a Reply

 
