Charcoal drawing

image

I’ve been trying some charcoal sketching in the past few days. Just some found images to practice on.
This one is from a portait photograph of Malcolm Fraser By Andrew Zuckerman. A cracking pose gives the sitter a dignity and poise. I’ll use this practice as a stepping stone to drawings of my own photos and to a series of charcoal portraits from life. That sounds like a commitment!
This drawing, I didnt use any measuring. I put the marks down and adjusted as I went. The outcome has an inaccuracy in places; the head is slightly too big. But I can put up with this as I enjoy the freedom of discovery in the drawing. The sitters left hand is a bit limp. I had a hard time finding the form there. More to come

~ by David Reid on September 11, 2012.

5 Responses to “Charcoal drawing”

  1. Beautiful work.

  2. Wow, this is just gorgeous. Charcoal envy!

  3. sorry I missed the dem šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
