Preparatory drawing

image

Been away for a while. Not physically. Well, a physical separation of man and wifi link.
I took my computer from home into the studio in order to improve workflow. I was wasting time, back and forth for printing photographs and painting.
Unfortunately, I have no internet link at work and the blog is a casualty of that. BUT, I do have a fancy new smartphone. It has taken a bit of getting used to; all my internet use is now on a 4¨ screen. WordPress blogging will be done from the android app now. I will try and catch up on all the blogs I have missed reading too.
Meanwhile, my drawing above is preparation for an oil painting commission. The planning for this, I guess, will have taken as long as the painting itself. I took the photographs of the children and used the “best of” to create a believable ensemble. I was given a selection of photos of Gran to choose one that would fit the group. One major difficulty will be to match the lighting of gran to the room that the kids are in.
The kids were great and the photo session was quick and (almost) tear free. I hope to complete the painting at the end of september. (Heard that one before!)

~ by David Reid on August 21, 2012.

8 Responses to “Preparatory drawing”

  1. That will make a lasting family treasure David.

  2. I’m in the middle of the same cunundrum. Your composition is vibrant and the painting will be terrific.

  3. Really glad to see you back David 🙂
    love the preparation drawing, look forward to seeing the painting

  4. can’t wait to see the painting 🙂

  5. Marvellous to see drawing used in this way. Old school. Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

 
