Blue Mask II – a goner

Sold “Blue Mask II” on Monday.

It’s good to see this one getting a new life. I am very fond of the picture and always wondered if it would translate, to mean something to anyone else.  I’ll get feedback when I visit the gallery next week. I have to go to put a signature on it before the new owner takes it away. I always forget to sign paintings! I had an idea in the past that signatures waste the surface of a painting and spoil the experience of “looking in”. The habit of leaving it out developed and now I dont sign because I simply forget.

So now I have had to sign a couple after the sale and have been put on the spot to explain why it’s missing on numerous occasions. I get the message! I’ll sign from now on.

~ by David Reid on May 9, 2012.

13 Responses to “Blue Mask II – a goner”

  1. She’s beautiful, David. Love the mask.

  2. An engaging piece. I with ya on the signing, but this deserves a signature;)

  3. Hi David
    We are the proud new owners of blue mask 2 . We think it is a fabulous painting and are delighted with it in our home. Thank you for painting it and for the many happy hours it will give us admiring it over the coming years. Thank you for signing it.
    Rhona and Danny
    Dunfermline

    • You’re very, very welcome. Thank you so much for buying the painting. This picture means a lot to me and I am so glad you will get many years of enjoyment from it. Regards, David

  4. Well, I wish I’d had the money to beat your buyer to the punch, but I’m pleased for you in spite of my non-buyer’s remorse!

  5. Congratulations on the sale of such an intriguing painting. It is satisfying to read the feedback from the new caretakers of the painting.

  6. Powerful painting, David!

  7. You know I like this David. Just keep doin’ it

Leave a Reply

 
