Paris and her Papa

I have just handed over this painting of the lovely Paris with her Grandpa. A commission from Michael there in the picture. Having already painted Paris by herself, Michael asked for another of them both, taken from the same photograph session. A couple of years are between both paintings, ( My time management skills are poor! Shame on me – I am trying to fix that bit of the practice. I’m getting a wee bit better.)

Quite a straightforward composition I suppose. But the gaze of Paris takes the picture beyond the ordinary, I hope. Also trying to show the devotion of a proud grandpa without relegating his position as secondary.

Lots of pink in the clothing which helped to brighten up the design.

Michael sadly lost his wife last year to illness. She was present at the photo session and her appearance showed in the background in one or two of the pictures. I hesitated but then decided to paint her in the room at the back behind Michael’s shoulder. A difficult choice but I hope the family are pleased that she is there.

~ by David Reid on February 25, 2012.

4 Responses to “Paris and her Papa”

  1. You’ve achieved what you set out to do. It’s a beautiful painting all round. Just love the lock of blonde hair that urges the eye back around for another look.

  2. I would think that the quiet appearance of Paris’s late grandmother in the periphery of the picture would be a welcome evocation of her continued looking over them–to me it’s a perfect touch that completes the circle!

  3. Wow!

Leave a Reply

 
