Six Into Twelve IV

We all had a good night at the preview on friday evening. Three of the sitters came and I got a chance to take a pic of them next to their paintings. What a space the Dick Institute has for a show. I remember seeing the work of Hock-Aun Teh way back, maybe 15 years ago, in this gallery and I always think of his work when I go through the doors.

I loved seeing the work of Eoghann MacColl and seeing Keith Salmon’s Paintings outside the studio ( we are neighbours at the Courtyard Studios)  but it’s a bit weird having my traditional portrait paintings hanging alongside these contemporary landscape painters. Mine sticks out like a sore thumb.

I had lots of good feedback and gained a new student on the night. Also, I had news that I sold a painting that morning from a show in the Beresford Gallery. All good.

~ by David Reid on January 22, 2012.

7 Responses to “Six Into Twelve IV”

  1. Yes, but a bloomin’ magnificent sore thumb ! Looks like a great evening, glad it went well, best wishes,Victoria 🙂

  2. Looks like a packed house! Congratulations.

  3. Marvelous! Looks like it was a wonderful turnout for the show, regardless of whether people came to see a specific artist or not–never know who’s looking at what and what it might lead to in the long run. Landscapes are wonderful, of course, but I think you’re a ‘rara avis’, having such mastery of contemporary portraiture, and that to me is much more interesting and distinguished (I know how *hard* it is to do portraiture well!). So I say, double Cheers on this whole event to you!
    Kathryn

    • Thank you so much Kathryn. I feel privileged to be called a “rara avis”. Tell you what though, I admire your mastery of the written word. I am amazed at the apparent ease that you can entertain with such a variety in your prose. It’s not something I do without a struggle ( I am talking about the merest morsel of a sentence!) So kudos to you too.
      The show is going well and I am getting some work from it already. As you say, you never know who is looking!
      David

  4. I’m doing a monthly blogroll of recommended sites and for February, I’ve included your blog. I think your work is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

 
