Dogs Too!

 

Tom, who commissioned the portrait of Alison below, also commissioned a portrait of his dog Che.

A magnificent Belgian Shepherd (never seen one before), Che passed away three years ago and is sorely missed by Tom. I think this is my first dog in oils. I have drawn a few for folks in the past, in charcoal. I was a bit restricted in composition here as I had to follow a painting that Tom already has of a previous dog, painted by Sylvia Allen. Luckily he had a photograph with a pose that fits, although lots of detail missing in the photo. Sometimes that can be a good thing because it stops me becoming bogged down with photorealism.

This is about three quarters finished and I am looking to spend the rest of the week taking it to the end or very close to it.

 

~ by David Reid on August 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
