Beginnings of a new portrait III

Quickly followed by part three. The face is covered and the paint stretches into the neck area. I give a second layer to the hair to allow another assessment of the skin tones for a later retouch. I take a breather here and begin the abstracted background elements. The background will be  a construction inspired by the cut and paste of real background which I  play around with when composing the portrait on photoshop. I used the same idea on my portrait of Archie.

~ by David Reid on June 27, 2011.

3 Responses to “Beginnings of a new portrait III”

  1. Wow! This is brilliant; I find it really interesting to see the workings of a painting and how different artists work. I look forward to seeing the end result.

  2. Thanks Sonnie, glad you like it. I’ll have it finished in two weeks I hope. I’ll post the end result and let you know what I think of it. Cheers

  3. […] a constructed abstract shape but the colour made the skin tones on the subject too hot( here is an earlier version). So changes were made, I altered the design to an Art Deco thing with these warm greens and a grey […]

Leave a Reply

 
