Beginnings of a new portrait

Thought it would be an idea to record the progression of a current portrait.

Working from photographs, I trace the image and transfer the drawing on to canvas.

In this case I am applying the paint, starting at the eyes, and gradually pushing outwards to the rest of the face. The paint is very thin. It helps to have a smooth, fine weave linen as the diluted paint goes on like watercolour almost.

I hope to get the finish right with the first application but inevitably I will have to paint another layer, at least here and there.

The photo isn’t great. I only had my phone to take it with.

 

~ by David Reid on June 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
