Demo

I keep revisiting this pic of Kate. It’s effective as a demonstration, where time is limited. The composition and the tonal areas make for a dramatic but simple picture. It helps that Kate has such a cheeky face in this too.

This was painted in about 45 minutes. If only all painting was as quick and effective. Maybe I should restrict my time and experiment a little, see what happens…

So here is a painting of big sis, finished tonight with the restriction that I had to finish in one session. I am learning from the life class to speed up and enjoy the surprising marks. This image is not quite got the character of the first one but it does have a stillness I like. ( Something not right with the left eye – i’ll look at that tomorrow)

Fixed the eye I think – I have replaced the image with this new one. I worked on it the next morning for about ten minutes…

~ by David Reid on March 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
