Watercolour portrait finished

When to stop painting? I realised the paint on the portrait was a bit thin this morning, but this was after thinking that I could be a bit more subtle with the tones. In this instance I changed my mind and decided to deepen the tones, especially the darker areas. Also, I have treated the skin more realistically, adding texture and mottled appearance.

~ by David Reid on January 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “Watercolour portrait finished”

  1. Wow, I like this a lot! Esp. the eyes are beautiful and I like how you added lights and shadowns.

    • Cheers Tanja – Kate was wearing some metallic eye make up in this picture, so there was a tricky sheen being reflected. Hopefully that comes across in the painting. Thanks for looking.

Leave a Reply

 
