Still life : Flowers in jug

floers in jug 1 opt

I am exploring the still life at the moment. Partly an exercise for classes and partly a job for myself to find out how to paint “the thing” in an exciting way. I am so used to painting faces which have their own interest and energy in themselves. Still life is notorious for bringing out the sigh of boredom in most people. I hope to find a way that enthuses those unpersuaded and also to give myself a new challenge.

This is step two. The first one was very poor. I used a surface that was too absorbent and the paint wouldn’t budge. I like the paint to slip and slide around. I like oil paper for that reason.

I might take this to a finish and see what becomes of it. It is very straightforward and composition is simple and ..well.. pretty boring I have to say. Onwards and upwards though, hopefully I can instill some energy with a good blast of impasto.

~ by David Reid on January 16, 2014.

7 Responses to “Still life : Flowers in jug”

  1. Looking good so far ! :-)

  2. “Still life is notorious for bringing out the sigh of boredom in most people.”

    I’ve always wondered why this is. I love still lifes.

    ” I hope to find a way that enthuses those unpersuaded and also to give myself a new challenge.

    I’m quite sure you will. Looking forward to seeing the finished painting.

  3. Flowers – not an easy subject, very challenging. I’m interested to see how they turn out :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

